pade pade

Last week a yoga colleague of mine asked how my “new” life was coming along. Since returning from Philadelphia nearly two months ago I have been steadily working at putting together a life in Farmville. I started graduate classes and was accepted into graduate school. I have been reaching out, making new friends and contacts. I have been searching for jobs, applying for those jobs, writing cover letters, going to grant writing workshops, interviewing, searching for graduate assistant-ships, and all the while maintaining my self practice practice.

Has it been hard? Yes.

Truthfully, I tried to quit. I have known others who have worked just as hard, been totally dedicated, traveled to Mysore and just quit, cold tofu, quit. I like going to Zumba class and here in Central Virginia there is a large and dedicated community of Zumbis. Yesterday, after sweating and smiling through Zumba, I came home and found myself in my small yoga room at the top of my mat. Seriously, I just found myself there. My brain was saying, “you already exercised for the day; this is unnecessary.” My brain was saying this even as I inhaled and lifted my arms overhead and gazed thumb and after 5 sun salutations my brain stopped saying things.

The practice is a solo journey. Being in Mysore is a piece of cake. Practicing alone in the middle of nowhere is the work. I am lucky to have had so much alone at the top of my mat practice, otherwise I am sure I would have quit. This hiatus from teaching is sure to make me a stronger student and in the future a wiser teacher.

Thank you alone-ness for allowing the practice to present itself in a very quiet way. As much as I love the rocking beats in Zumba, I still need the time to check in, all the way in, so I can best navigate the way out.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to pade pade

  1. Yes, yoga is so much more than just exercise. Lately I have been too tired for Mysore practice, so I shifted to just yin for a few days. Checking in is really important. It doesn’t matter if you are walking miles and dancing around…you still need a yoga fix.

Leave a Reply

