Big Changes in 2013

jordan

I am about to head out on what will be my last big travel adventure for sometime. It is a great way to end what was a whirl wind travel year. 2012 had me spending time in three different countries and many states here at home in the US. My trip to Mysore was a real turning point. I grew very tired of the “yoga scene” and as I made my way back to the States the endless chatter about yoga poses, and yoga prophets made me feel sickened to be a member of this self-indulgent scene. For the first time in 12 years I was embarrassed to call myself a yoga teacher for fear of being lumped in with the crowd mistaking practice for performance, asana for yoga, and as those voices got louder I felt myself pull back…..way back.

After teaching in Arlington, VA, Amman, Jordan and in my home town of Philadelphia, I am heading back to school starting a Master’s program in educational counseling. Practice will always be there to support me, but I am dialing back my teaching schedule significantly. So, I do hope to see students and share with them what is certainly going to be a life altering experience of teaching in Amman.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Big Changes in 2013

  1. Lu Duong says:

    Hi Jill,

    Wow, it appears you have had some time for necessary deep reflection. Perhaps when you are ready, an entry regarding your frustrations with the yoga scene may prove cathartic. I know I am am very interested in your thoughts. Wishing you best of luck on your new adventure.

  2. Katrina says:

    Jill- best wishes in this new adventure! You have impacted many of us so positively- more than you know. Enjoy!!! Katrina (Student from Sporting Club years ago who is now hooked on yoga because of you :))

  3. maria says:

    Hello Jill! On this sunny blue sky Christmas day via FB trying to catch up with friends and family, I find some entries from you that amaze and delight. In some ways a continuation of our brief conversation at the shala months ago about teaching, frustrations, fatigue. Kudos. I have a wonderful new colleague from Jordan and I believe you must be having an incredible experience there. And, of course, going back to school! yee-ha! All the power to you, City Mouse. I will be gone in January undertaking some travel with students, but if you are here before Jan 2 or after Jn 26th, please, let’s talk in person! Many, many blessings to you and Liana.

Leave a Reply

