Mapping

Tomorrow is my last morning at Yoga Garden.   What an amazing group of students.  You can see from their focus that it is landing.  Just this morning on the way out of the room, I asked if she had any questions and she said with a smile, ‘this is hard.’

One year for my birthday a yoga student made me a tank top that said, ‘yoga is hard.’  The truth is it is a hard path, but it the most satisfying way.  Ashtanga Yoga provides the student with a map, a map toward mastery.  All we need to do is to follow the map.  For some they take to the map readily, and for others you can see and feel that they doubt the map.  They think there is another map, the one that you the teacher followed to get there if not faster, then definitely fancier.

there is no fast….there is no fancy.

The map is there for all of us, the question is then, is the destination where we really want to go.  When I met David Keil I had been practicing and teaching yoga for 5 years  I immediately recognized that he had been somewhere that I never was and really wanted to go….. not only had he been there….he had the map.

This fall (actually next month) marks the beginning of my 7th year of daily Ashtanga Yoga practice.  The map has changed my life, my practice, my self and my soul.  It is a pretty simple journey….but man, it is hard.

I look forward to the remainder of my teaching and practice time in Philly.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mapping

  1. Christine says:

    Love this Jill! …indeed, there is no fast, there is no fancy and if there was we’d all be dissapointed when we got there… 🙂

  2. very true Christine! I hope that your week with David was neither fast or fancy.

Leave a Reply

