week three | leaf, flower, fruit

Here I am at the crossroad, three down and three weeks to go.  My friend Cyndi asked me to write about repetition.  Many yoga students tell me, I could never do that don’t you get bored?  The truth is, I do get bored.  I think we all do, but the boredom becomes something very revealing.  It is in the quiet space that practice begins to speak.  So this being my 6th trip there is a lot of repetition.  The same faces, the same streets, the same lunches, the same waiting for one more in the shala.  The sameness is starting to speak to me, rather loudly actually.  I see where irritation is just a habit.  I feel the difference between lonely and aloneness.  I am starting to look for happy verses (manic) happy.

The truth is life inside the shala is a whole new experience.  Working with intermediate series in that extremely intense environment is changing me….I think for the better.  I feel confidence start emerging from my practice, my breath, and how I am choosing to relate to others.  I just said to  friend at lunch……I can only be me, I don’t know how to be anyone else.  I can offer what I can.  Chanting from the Bhagavad-Gita everyday and sometimes twice a day is worming its way into my practice and thought practice.  This is a verse I am chanting before practice each morning.

patram puspam phalam toyam
yo me bhaktya prayacchati
tad aham bhakty-upahrtam
asnami prayatatmanah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

