30 day project starts NOW

…well yesterday.

My sister and I decided to start on the 10th of July….so the first change I am going to try on for 30 days is # 11. no refined sugar. I figure this will be just enough of a challenge but not so hard because I don’t consider myself a sugar addict. I don’t even think that I have a sugar habit. I don’t put sugar in my coffee. I don’t drink soda. I don’t crave candy….easy right. Well since yesterday was day 1/30 I thought it would be a sugarless cake walk.

1st challenge of the day.
At the Trader Joe’s, I store I normally just fly through I found myself slowing down, taking more time, and reading the labels. In the car on the way home I gasped, “I didn’t check the salsa!”

2nd challenge of the day.
At a goodbye BBQ I couldn’t put ketchup on my veggie burger, bottled salad dressing on my greens, and partake in the pistachio ice cream. Did I feel weird? Not at all! We were surrounded by supportive friends who seemed very interested in the concept. Some had already seen the TED talk.

Overall it much much harder than I thought it was going to be. I am looking forward to slowing down when it comes to food choices, seeing how this change effects my sleep and mood, two things that seem to be all over the place. While I didn’t want to start this project with something that I was going to remove from my life I think I can feel it will add a steadiness and simplicity that I am really CRAVING.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

