One Surya Namaskara at a Time

In honor of the Full Moon day today Karen of Yoga Squared held a Yoga Mala celebration. She asked me to bring a bit of texture (that is not what she said but how I am making that connection) to the practice by chanting with the Harmonium. So, on this typical day of rest I woke early and gathered my things to practice and sing.

According to Karen a Yoga Mala is the practice of 108 Surya Namaskara’s. The groupings went 8 Surya A’s, and 1 Surya B. I found it to be an very interesting study in repetition, rhythm, and the ruminations of the mind.

I was reminded of my music teacher in India. When I couldn’t execute an exercise so confidently he would in all seriousness ask me if I had practiced the exercise 100 times. I hadn’t. As I approached the 100th Surya A I felt a real kinship with the material, a closeness that I had never experienced before and at the same time a freshness a newness, and a deep appreciation of its simplicity and design.

Dropbacks workshop this Saturday (check my website)…you must preregister as to not be left out!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

